NSW locals announced as finalists in leadership awards

2nd September 2016

For the past 27 years, the Institute of Managers and Leaders’ (IML) prestigious Leadership Excellence Awards (ALEAs) have celebrated inspirational, passionate and talented managers from across the nation. The awards put a spotlight on the individual contributions and achievements of these leaders whilst also encouraging nominees to reflect on their careers and personal development over the past twelve months.

“The IML Leadership Excellence Awards acknowledge and distinguish management excellence across the nation and represent an exceptional opportunity to recognise some of the innovative and important work being done around Australia,” said IML CEO, David Pich. “Great managers and leaders make decisions that affect people’s lives every day, so it is essential to recognise and award those who have made a positive impact and support them to become the best leaders they can.”

Since mid May, people from all over Australia have been nominating leaders who have made a positive impact on a community, institution or workplace. From here, those nominated were asked to submit an application to become shortlisted as a category finalist. Each state and territory will see regional and state finalists announced ahead of the ALEAs National final at IML’s 75th Anniversary Gala Dinner on 19th October.

Today, IML is excited to announce the local finalists for NSW are as follows:

 Name Category
 Didier Moutia Community Leader
 Timothy Coates Community Leader
 Allan Gibson (OAM) Community Leader
 Lindsay Rogers Emerging Leader
 Domenic Fonte Emerging Leader
 Matthew Vozella Emerging Leader
 Jared Merlino Emerging Leader
 Damiaan van Zanen Emerging Leader
 Michael Johnston Leader / Manager
 Claire E. Bibby Leader / Manager
 Tracy Mellor Leader / Manager
 Warren Bingham Leader / Manager
 Alan Sweeney Leader / Manager
 Deb Ryan Not for Profit
 Don Palmer Not for Profit
 Don Palmer Not for Profit
 Ian Hardy Not for Profit
 Nicole King Not for Profit
 Taryn Williams Owner / Entrepreneur
 Rob MacDonald Owner / Entrepreneur
 Nikki Beaumont Owner / Entrepreneur
 Sarah Liu Owner / Entrepreneur
 Dominic May Student
 Nicholas Fahy Student
 Elyse Di Stefano Student

State winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday 6th September, with winners moving forward to the National Finals on Wednesday 19th October, where the ‘Leader of the Year’ across all categories will be announced.
The state award ceremony will take place from 6:30pm at IML in Sydney CBD. Tickets are available for $45 for members and $55 for non-members.

For more information about the 2016 IML ALEAs or to purchase your tickets, visit the website.

– ENDS –

For media enquiries or interviews contact:

Rebecca Clark – Magnum & Co
02 9211 4322 / 0413 187 028

Kate Gabbott – Magnum & Co
02 9211 4322 / 0434 886 678