ACT locals announced as finalists in leadership awards

14th September 2016 

For the past 27 years, the Australian Institute of Management’s (AIM) prestigious Leadership Excellence Awards (ALEAs) have celebrated inspirational, passionate and talented managers from across the nation. The awards put a spotlight on the individual contributions and achievements of these leaders whilst also encouraging nominees to reflect on their careers and personal development over the past twelve months.

“The AIM Leadership Excellence Awards acknowledge and distinguish management and leadership excellence across the nation and represent an exceptional opportunity to recognise some of the innovative and important work being done around Australia,” said AIM CEO, David Pich. “Great managers and leaders make decisions that affect people’s lives every day, so it is essential to recognise and award those who have made a positive impact and support them to become the best leaders they can.”

Since mid May, people from all over Australia have been nominating leaders who have made a positive impact on a community, institution or workplace. From here, those nominated were asked to submit an application to become shortlisted as a category finalist. Each state and territory will see regional and state finalists announced ahead of the ALEAs National final at AIM’s 75th Anniversary Gala Dinner on 19th October.

Today, AIM is excited to announce the local finalists for ACT are as follows:

 Name Award Category
 Glenn Keys Community Leader
 Jeanette Purkis Community Leader
 Jen Cross Community Leader
 Kate Seselja Community Leader
 Claudia Vannithone (AIMe) Emerging Leader
 Mick Spencer Emerging Leader
 Rhiannon Beach Emerging Leader
 Daniel Nguyen (AIMe) Emerging Leader
 Sarah Lynch Emerging Leader
 Dr Stephen Arnott Leader / Manager
 Frances Crimmins Leader / Manager
 Jim Roy Leader / Manager
 Kristin Brookfield Leader / Manager
 Peter Gilbert Leader / Manager
 Dr Joanne Ramadge Not for Profit
 Francis Owusu (AIMM) Not for Profit
 Greg Aldridge Not for Profit
 Maxwell Gratton (FAIM) Not for Profit
 Bryan Roach Not for Profit
 Hilary Wardhaugh Owner / Entrepreneur
 Jenni Tarrant Owner / Entrepreneur
 Julie Okely Owner / Entrepreneur
 Rod Hattch Owner / Entrepreneur
 Tracy Keeley (FAIM) Owner / Entrepreneur
 Alex Schumann-Gillett Student Leader Student Leader
 Jakob (Tze Vun) Voo Student Leader
 Josephine Janssen (AIMs) Student Leader

State winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday 20th September, with winners moving forward to the National Finals on Wednesday 19th October, where the ‘Leader of the Year’ across all categories will be announced.
The state award ceremony will take place from 6pm at the Canberra Rex Hotel. Tickets are available for $55 for members and $65 for non-members.

For more information about the 2016 AIM ALEAs or to purchase your tickets, visit the website.

– ENDS –

For media enquiries or interviews contact:

Rebecca Clark – Magnum & Co
02 9211 4322 / 0413 187 028

Kate Gabbott – Magnum & Co
02 9211 4322 / 0434 886 678